MPSHome Alumni Calendar Contact
Lady Polars Win Third Consecutive State Championship (2005)
Lady Polars after the Championship Game (Click on photo to enlarge)
     The Lady Polars earned their third consecutive state championship with an overwhelming  71-45 victory over the Academy of Holy Angels Stars. Maurika Carlisle scored a game high 14 points.  Tasha Byers, Daria Frazier and Ephesia Holmes scored 10 each with Catrice Williams scoring nine.
     This is the fifth State Championship title won by the Lady Polars.  They won the the State Championship title in 1998, 1999, 2003, and 2004. Watch for more photos from the Championship game. They should be posted by Wednesday.

 3A: Minneapolis North 71, Holy Angels 45 
 3A girls: North coach uses kinder, gentler way 
                                         -StarTribune coverage
Lady Polars' Day April 15, 2005

Councilperson Natalie Johnson-Lee and Mayor, R.T. Rybak
     April 15, 2005 Proclaimed North High School's Lady Polars Day in the City of Minneapolis. Lady Polars and Coach Faith Johnson-Patterson were honored at City Hall where a proclamation was issued for their excellence in the State Basketball Tournament winning the title in women's Class 3-A for
Lady Polar Coach Faith Johnson-Patterson
Lady Polar Coach Faith Johnson-Patterson
three consecutive years. 
     The Proclamation reads as follows: Whereas, North High School's Lady Polars have achieved the notable accomplishment of winning their third Class3-A State Girls Baskertball Championship in as many years, and 
     Whereas the Lady Polar
Players; Apiphany Asberry,  Tasha Byers, Maurika Carlisle, Markaja Cooper,  Charmaine Cross,  Nadvia Davis,  Ashlynn Fuller,  Daria Frazier,  Ephesia Holmes,  Davida Moore,  Takiyah Stewart,  Catrice Williams have excelled in their sport, while demonstrating their commitment to academic
Lady Polars, student Team Managers and Coach Patterson
achievement by maintaining a cumulative team grade point average of 3.0 
     Now, Therefore, I, R.T., Rybak, Mayor of the City of Minneapolis, do hereby proclaim April 15, 2005 as: