MPSHome Alumni Calendar Contact

Badminton began at North as part of the Girls Athletic Association (GAA).  The GAA allowed females to participate in intramural athletics since they were not allowed to participate in inter-school competition.  This lasted until the passage of Title IX in the early 1970’s.  At that time, schools began offering chanced for female students to compete as the males students did.  The Minnesota State High School League sponsors badminton, but it does not officially recognize a state champion because there are very only 16 schools that participate.  Fourteen of the schools are the seven schools each from Minneapolis and St. Paul.  The other two are Eden Prairie and Burnsville.


Head coaches have included Julie Anderson (1993-1994 to present), Rodney Lossow (1991-1992 to 1992-1993), Raymond Carlson (1980-1981 to 1990-1991), Peggy Bowman (1979-1980), Kathy Sworsky (1977-1978), Shirley Keating (1973-1974 to 1976-1977), Mary Josephson (1970-1971 to 1972-1973), Ms Marty (1969-1970), Jean Gustafson (1968-1969), Mary Josephson (1967-1968), Connie Gibson (1966-1967), Mary Josephson (1965-1966), Geraldine Dooley (1964-1965), Maroa Tracy (1961-1962), Mary Josephson (1960-1961), Astrid Johanson (1949-1950) and Lois Denning (1936-1937).  No records have been found as to who coached during the years that are not listed.