MPSHome Alumni Calendar Contact

Baseball has been a sport at North since the 1896-1897 school year.  The Minnestoa State High School League has sponsored a state championship tournament since the 1946-1947 school year.

North has won the conference title 10 times, the first being in 1924-1925 school year.  It seemed that North was building a dynasty, capturing the crown in 1925-1926, 1926-1927, 1927-1928, and 1928-1929 school years.  North took a little time away from the title, but regained its glory in the early 1940’s, capturing consecutive crowns in 1939-1940, 1940-1941, 1941-1942, and 1942-1943.  The Polars next and last conference championship was in the 1957-1958 school year. In the 1950’s, 1960’2 and early 1970’s, the conference was divided into two divisions, a North division and South division.  North captured the North division title in 1951-1952 and 1960-1961, but lost the playoff against the South division champion to claim the Conference Crown.  North has never played in a state tournament.

Recently, with the growth of AAU basketball, many North athletes have shied away from Spring sports in order to focus on basketball.  Because of this, North spent many years in last place winning only 4 games since 2000-2001 season.

Coaches have included: Charles Simmons (2005-2006 to present), Jonathan “Kip” Krasean (2002-2003 to 2004-2005), Matthew Johnson (2001-2002), Marshall Little (1999-2000 to 2000-2001), Richard Stanton (1998-1999), Larry Whitmore (1997-1998), Calvin Whitmore (1993-1994 to 1996-1997). Larry Whitmore (1992-1993), Walter Scott (1987-1988 to 1989-1990), Tom Perry (1982-1983 to 1985-1986), McKinley Moore (1978-1980 to 1981-1982), Steve Schmid (1973-1974 to 1977-1978), Walter Nalepka (1963-1964 to 1968-1969)m Joseph Hutton (1960-1961 to 1962-1963), James Keenan (1957-1-58 to 1959-1960), George Keenan (1954-1955 to 1956-1957), Jack Behrendt (1953-1954), Jim Treglawny (1946-1947 to 1952-1953), Martin “Tom” Kennedy (1937-1938 to 1945-1946), Arthur Lindman (1936-1937), Martin “Tom” Kennedy (1919-1920 to 1935-1936), Henry T. Zittleman (1917-1918 to 1918-1919) and Myron Leslie (1913-1914 to 1916-1917). No records have been found as to who coached during the years that are not listed.