MPSHome Alumni Calendar Contact
Men's Track

The earliest records of a track team at North go back to the 1908-1909 school year when five athletes ran under the tutelage of Roy T. Tenney. Since that time, North has fielded some powerful teams and outstanding individuals.  The MSHSL held its first state track meet in 1922-1923.

Twice, the Men have become state team champions, in 1942-1943 and 1947-1948.

It has been mentioned that North won the team championship in 1903-1904, however this has not been verified.

Individuals have also won state titles in their events.  The first state entrants appeared at the 1919-1920 meet, where four athletes finished 2nd in their events, Louis Gross (javelin and shot put), Theodore Kolderie (880 yard run), Milton Ryberg (120 yard high hurdles) and David Sperling (200 year dash).  Sperling also finished 4th in the 100 yeard dash.

Ed Wade became a Champion in 1964-1965 winning the 100 yard dash. Terry Lewis also won the 100 yard dash nine years later in 1973-1974.  Both Wade and Lewis share the state meet record, winning 9.90 seconds.  That record will never be broken since the state used the metric system for race distances. (They share the record with seven other runners.)  Redd Overton became a state champion in 1981-1982, winning the 400 meter race.  Delaine Crawford, Gerald Gill, Bronson McNeal and Jeffrey Robinson became state champs in 1982-1983 winning a relay.  School records did not say which relay they won.  Daniel Banister became a champ in 1986-1987, winning the 300 meter Intermediate Hurdles in record setting time of 36.97 seconds.  This is the oldest record at the state meet.

Head coaches have included: Sam Ebute (2007-2008 to present), Lee Bellfield (1984-1985 to 2006-2007), Richard Robinson Sr. (1982-1983 to 1983-1984), Greg Kapitan (1981-1982), Tony Queen (1979-1980 to 1980-1981), Richard Chakolis Sr. (1977-1989), Ben McCoy (1975-1976), Larry Hartse (1973-1974), Richard Chakolis Sr. (1971-1972), Barry Blackhawk (1969-1970) Lewis Burnett (1936-1937 to 1968-1969) Floyd Valley (1934-1935), George Conklin (1919-1920 to 1933-1934), Earl R. Jackson (1911-1912 to 1917-1918) and Roy T. Tenney (1908-1909 to 1910-1911). No records have been found as to who coached during the years that are not listed.